Keilaniemi Metro Station

The first phase of the extension of the metropolitan area subway connects Ruoholahti, Helsinki and Matinkylä, Espoo. Upon completion, in August 2016, the West Metro will service over 100,000 passengers every day.

The Keilaniemi station will be the first one on Espoo-side of the extension. To be situated on the narrow strip between sea and land, housing and office blocks, parks and a built shoreline. This borderline condition will be a distinct theme for the architectural concept of the station.

Both station entrances interpret the hidden, underground rock geometry, and distill the shapes into the form of the building. Initially free standing objects, the entrances will eventually be transformed into parts of the façade of the neighboring project. The faceted form and dynamic windows leave a recognizable impression. The entrance buildings are partially clad in metal from the east. Sheet metal, a high stone pedestal and glass surfaces share the same surface in the faceted geometry. From the west, the buildings have a simple metal grille façade.

The platform level in Keilaniemi takes some visual and atmospheric cues from the above ground hub of office blocks. The walls are made of glass, with white back-painted glass higher up. The platform walls are bounded by a partial lowered ceiling, also of opaque white glass. Thus, the overall look of the platform level becomes sleek and reflective. The lighting tube based art project proposal by the artist duo Grönlund & Nisunen has been embedded as an integral part of the overall design.

Rendering, platform level
Rendering, entrance pavillions
Rendering, entrance pavillion

NAME: Keilaniemi metro station

TYPE: Commission, 2009

STATUS: Built, metro traffic starts in 2017

LOCATION: Espoo, Finland

CLIENT: Länsimetro Oy

PROGRAM: Underground metro station with two entrance pavillions, 16,600 m2 total

TEAM: ALA partners Juho Grönholm, Antti Nousjoki, Janne Teräsvirta and Samuli Woolston with Sami Mikonheimo, Pekka Tainio, Niklas Mahlberg, Harri Ahokas, Santtu Hyvärinen, Mikko Kilpeläinen, Nina Rusanen, Miguel Silva, Pekka Sivula, Jyri Tartia and Yena Young, in collaboration with Esa Piironen Architects (Esa Piironen, Juha Lumme, Henriikka Ryhänen)

COLLABORATORS: Sweco PM (Project consultant), CJN Arkkitehtitoimisto (coordinator), Konsulttiyhteenliittymä FKW (Geo & track engineering), Rockplan (Rock engineering), Insinööritoimisto A-Insinöörit (Structures), Pöyry Building Services, Insinööritoimisto Olof Granlund and Konsulttiryhmä Nissinen-Niemistö (HVAC)

PHOTOS: Tuomas Uusheimo