Kivenlahti metro station

The construction of the first leg of the West Metro project between Ruoholahti, Helsinki and Matinkylä, Espoo has been completed and the traffic on this western extension of the Helsinki metro line will commenced in November 2017. In the second phase, the West Metro will be extended further west with five more stations across a seven-kilometer-long route, with Kivenlahti being the furthest of them. Excavation of the metro tunnels began in late 2014 and the construction of the stations in 2016, metro traffic should start in the early 2020s. The metro will run in a tunnel for the entire section from Matinkylä to Kivenlahti.

The Kivenlahti station and its surroundings resemble a pure white dream with no colors or materials. The daily stroll from the metro station to the shore passes the impressive residential towers and traverses the white utopia Kasbah. The Kivenlahti neighborhood also holds a future promise: it will act as the western gate to the growing Helsinki metropolitan area. Both of the station’s entrance pavilions will eventually be surrounded by, or even integrated to, future development as the area is set to be heavily built. The station’s role is to remain cool and calm, like a white memento of the past.


Kivenlahdentori entrance
Escalator leading to Kivenlahdentori
Kivenlahdentie ticket hall
Platform level
Photo: Satu Linkola

NAME: Kivenlahti metro station

TYPE: Commission, 2013

STATUS: Under construction

LOCATION: Espoo, Finland

CLIENT: Länsimetro

PROGRAM: An underground metro station with two entrance pavillions, 18,300 m² total

TEAM: ALA partners Juho Grönholm, Antti Nousjoki and Samuli Woolston with Petteri Littu, Erica Österlund, Marlène Oberli-Räihä, Mikael Rupponen, Olli Parviainen, Jorge Rovira, Pekka Tainio, Prisca Pannone, Niklas Mahlberg, Anssi Luodemäki, Rachel Murray, Mikko Kilpeläinen, Heini-Emilia Saari and Eva Geitel


COLLABORATORS: Sweco PM (project manager), CJN Arkkitehtitoimisto (coordinator), Pöyry Finland and Ramboll Finland (structural design), Pöyry Finland (track engineering), Finnmap Infra, Rockplan, WSP Finland, Sipti and Saanio & Riekkola (rock engineering), Granlund and Ramboll Finland (HVAC), Tauno Nissinen, Niemistö and Granlund (electrical engineering)